Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player












The John C. Gifford Arboretum is thrilled to annouce
Dr. William "Ned" Friedman as our speaker for the 29th Gifford Lecture!

University of Miami Department of Biology
College of Arts and Sciences

The Twenty-ninth Gifford Arboretum Lecture

Will take place on April 3, 2017 at 7PM

In Cox Science Center Room 126

Dr. William "Ned" Friedman

Harvard University's Arnold Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology and Director of the Arnold Arboretum

will present

Mutants in our Midst: Darwin, Horticulture, and Evolution

Although often overlooked as such, many of the horticultural varieties that we grow in gardens are premier examples of the ongoing process of evolution:s random mutations that lead, on the rarest of occasions, to novel ands desirable biological characteristics.

See this flyer for more information

Free admission and parking

  The Gifford Arboretum is located on the University of Miami Coral Gables campus near the intersection of San Amaro Drive and Robbia Avenue . For additional information please call
305 284 1302

Cosponsors:   Montgomery Botanical Center


The Gifford Arboretum Lecture is part of the CETroB lecture series


Former Gifford Arboretum Lecturers (click here)


Richard Howard

Professor emeritus and former Director of the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University


Mark Plotkin

Ethnobotanist, Time magazine’s 1999 Hero of the Planet


Bill Theobauld

Director of the National Tropical Botanical Gardens


Richard Howard

Director of the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University


Taylor Alexander

Professor of Biology and Creator of Microbiome, University of Miami


Walter Hodges

USDA plant explorer and oversaw NSF awards for Tropical Botany


Christine Padoch

Professor of Ecological Anthropology

Institute of Economic Botany at the New York Botanical Garden


Luis Diego Gomez

Director of Las Cruces Biological Station

and The Robert and Catherine Wilson Botanical Garden


Robin Foster

Professor of Plant Ecology, Field Museum of Natural History


Paul Cox

Director of the National Tropical Botanical Gardens


Meg Lowman

Director of Research and Conservation, Marie Selby Botanical Garden


Peter Ashton

Professor of Forestry

and Faculty Fellow of the Center for International Development, Harvard University


Robin Marantz Henig

Author & Freelance Science Writer


Alvaro Calonje-Daly

Director of Dolmestch Arboretum & Horticulturist, Cali, Colombia


Robin Chazdon

Professor of Ecology, University of Connecticut


Peter M. Vitousek

Clifford G. Morrison Professor in Population and Resource Studies

Department of Biological Sciences and FSI Senior Fellow, Stanford University


Georgia Tasker

Journalist, Miami Herald


Douglas Larson

Professor Emeritus, University of Guelph


Deborah A. Clark

Professor, Department of Biology

University of Missouri St. Louis


Julie S. Denslow

Research Ecologist and Team Leader

Invasive Species Unit Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry

USDA Forest Service


Lúcia Lohmann

Professor, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil


W. John Kress

Curator and Research Scientist of the Department of Biology, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution


Susanne Renner

Professor and Chair of Systematic Botany and Mycology University of Munich, Director of Munich Herbarium, Director of the Munich Botanical Garden


Carol C. Horvitz, PhD.

Professor of the Department of Biology of University of Miami, Cooper Fellow 2008-2010


Walter S. Judd

Distinguished Professor of Botany, University of Florida


P. Barry Tomlinson

Professor of Botany Emeritus at Harvard University


Dr. Dennis W. Stevenson

Vice President for Laboratory Research at New York Botanical Garden and Adjunct Professor at Columbia, Cornell and Yale Universities


Dr. Helene Muller-Landau

Lead Scientist for the Global Forest Carbon Initiative of the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute