Welcome to

Genetics and Society - BIL 104

...a one-semester tour for the non-science major to the basics of genes, how they work, and how biotechnology affects every day life. Class meets every Tuesday and Thursday from 9:25 - 10:40am in SA 145.

The textbook is Essentials of Genetics by Klug and Cummings.

Click here to view the Fall 2002 Lecture Notes


Your Instructor this semester will be Dr. Dana Krempels.

You can reach her by phone at (305) 284-3977, but will probably get a faster response via email at dana@miami.edu.

Office hours are from 10:45am - noon on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and by appointment at a time that's convenient for you. Please send me an email to set up a meeting!


Here's the syllabus for Dr. Dana Krempels' Fall 2002 Genetics Course. This schedule is a rough guide to what we'll be covering this semester, and is subject to constant revision, as circumnstances require and as time permits.

 

Date

Topic

Readings

Thursday, August 29

INTRODUCTION

Chapter 1

Tuesday, September 3

The Organization of Life

Chapter 1

Thursday, September 5

A Wee Review of Cells & Their Chemistry

Chapter 2

Tuesday, September 10

Mitosis and Meiosis

Chapter 2 (and a bit of 17)

Thursday, September 12

My Favorite Monk

Chapter 3

Tuesday, September 17

Gene Interactions, Part One

Chapter 4

Thursday, September 19

Gene Interactions, Part Two

Chapter 4

Tuesday, September 24

EXAM I: Covering all material through September 19

Study hard!

Thursday, September 26

Gene Interactions, Part Three

Chapter 4

Tuesday, October 1

Sex and the Single Chromosome

Chapter 5

Thursday, October 3

The Structure of DNA

Chapter 10

Tuesday, October 8

DNA Replication and Synthesis

Chapter 11

Thursday, October 10

The Genetic Code: Transcription

Chapter 12

Tuesday, October 15

Translation: Making Protein

Chapter 13

Thursday, October 17

Transcription & Translation, continued

Chapter 13

Tuesday, October 22

EXAM II: Covering all material from September 26-October 22

study hard again

Thursday, October 24

Genetic Changes: Mutations at the Chromosome Level

Chapter 7

Tuesday, October 29

Gene Expression

Chapter 15

Thursday, October 31

A Special Halloween Treat

It's for the Bats

Tuesday, November 5

Microevolution: Population Genetics

Chapter 22

Thursday, November 7

Genetics and Evolution

Chapter 22

Tuesday, November 12

Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium: Changes in Allele frequencies

Chapter 22

Thursday, November 14

EXAM III - covering material from Lectures 14-19

Video

Tuesday, November 19

The Loss of Biodiversity

video & Chapter 24

Thursday, November 21

Natural Selection and its Genetic Consequences

Chapter 23

Tuesday, November 26

Sociobiology and Quantitative Genetics

Chapter 6

Thursday, November 28

THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY

stuffing

Tuesday, December 3

Biotechnology: Applications and Cautions

Chapter 19

Thursday, December 5

The Genetics of Cancer

Chapter 21

Thursday, December 12

FINAL EXAM
IN SA 145 AT 8:00AM

GOOD LUCK, AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS!


Have a question for Dr. Krempels? Send her an email at dana@miami.edu


Go to Dana Krempels' Home Page

Go to Biology Department Home Page